Afterthoughts 5-22-17

Wow. I don’t even know where to start with my afterthoughts this week. To say that this month has been a blur is an understatement. Not only has this month been full of new beginnings for myself personally, but it’s also been a month full of excitement, learning, and heartache.

Not for one second during Soundgarden’s concert on May 17th in Detroit did I think, as I sat in the audience, that this would be the last time I would see Chris Cornell alive. He was singing his heart out, jumping around on stage, and fist bumping fans in the front row. He was talking about how great it was to perform in Detroit, and how the next city had a lot to live up to. I remember leaving the concert full of life and excited to see them again on their next tour. I was extremely excited that I had gotten one of the four autographed posters at the concert, and was looking forward to getting it framed so I could display it proudly in my home. Waking up to the news of his passing hurt so much. I didn’t believe it at first, but the more I found articles online confirming it, the less I could deny it. I simply couldn’t believe that he would take his own life. There’s still a part of me that will never believe it.

The poster is currently in the process of getting framed, but as soon as I have it back, I will take a picture of it and post it in this blog.

Soundgarden is a huge part of my life. They helped to define who I am. No matter what was going on if my life, their music and words were always there.

I wanted to pay tribute to Cornell any way I could. My show this week served as not only a tribute to Cornell, but also as an outlet for fans, or for those who didn’t really know Chris Cornell and Soundgarden, but were interested to learn more.

Thank you, Chris, for the loudest love.

Leave a Reply

